Coffee breaks with Murakami

Standard

I rush to finish the last few editorial changes of a long pending assignment. The coffee pot is brewing the concoction , and I cant wait to get back to the unfinished pages of 1Q84 . Ever since the book arrived as a little surprise , I have been carrying it around like a talisman(and a heavy talisman at that ). I restlessly wait for lectures to get over like a child waiting for the last ring of the school bell so that I could get into the word of Tengo and Amomame .Over the past few days  I religiously  sip my coffee only after I have made sure that the words of Murakami flow in my head again.

I will not divulge into the details of the book ,but I shall tell you this ,Where Orwell sold us the idea of a totalitarian world , Murakami creates a world of make believe , without the orientation of a definite directional space. The characters are real but the world around you isn’t . Sometimes when I sit in my college  lectures , I often feel the disorientation one feels when you suddenly see light.I long to go back to a world where what you see, may or may not be real . The constant thought at the back of your mind while reading this book would be that maybe what you are looking at is a farce and you are the real thing, just like you would look around you twice for the big brother and correct your words of casual doublespeak usage while you were reading 1984.

Its a interesting way to pass your time , to question the whole situation of reality ,lets say repeatedly. Its a beautiful mind game played . There are certain Philosophical lines that makes you want to shout , of course you are real and the surroundings are what they maybe.

Its a draw back of the book that you will look into the night sky and wish to see another smaller moon along with your usual moon.Well right now ,I sound like a lunatic (another set back  post reading the book), but as an architect I now question the spaces around me .Weird ? well its the effect of the two moons.

I shall leave you with this one line from the book, before I finish my coffee , before I return to Tokyo of 1984 ,and before I return to Fuka Eri .Image

“Perhaps at some point ,when my mind was sleeping , somewhere in another space ,the world changed” .

2 thoughts on “Coffee breaks with Murakami

  1. ” Ever since the book arrived as a little surprise , I have been carrying it around like a talisman(and a heavy talisman at that ). I restlessly wait for lectures to get over like a child waiting for the last ring of the school bell so that I could get into the word of Tengo and Amomame .Over the past few days I religiously sip my coffee only after I have made sure that the words of Murakami flow in my head again.”

    LOVE IT and have felt that so many times about different artists.

Leave a Reply

